Non-Emergency 412-921-8624 / 24 hours 412-279-6911 / Emergency 911

GTPD Home Page

Vacation Homes

Residential Emergency Contact Information/Key Vault

Commercial/Business Emergency Contact Information

Animal Control

Animal Control's Lost Pet Project

GTPD Frequently Asked Questions

Safe Driving Tips

Crime Prevention Tips

Bike Safety

Pennsylvania Vehicle Code Information

PA Criminal Court Docket

Amber Alert

National Center for Missing & Exploited Children

Car Seat & Booster Seat Info

Downloadable Forms:

MV-145 Application for Disability Registration Decal for Vehicle

MV-145A Application for Disability Registration Placard for Vehicle

Request for Access to Public Records

 

Back to Welcome to Green Tree page

Safe Driving Tips

Emergency Vehicle Protocol

When being approached by an emergency vehicle, pull to the right shoulder of the road and STOP. Put on your hazard lights to allow others to see you better.

When a driver approaches a stopped emergency vehicle with its emergency lights activated, he or she must move over the the next lane. If the driver is unable to do so for some reason, the driver must SLOW DOWN to a safe and prudent speed before approaching and passing the emergency vehicle. A violation of this law can result in a fine up to $250 plus costs.


Cell Phones and Driving Don't Mix!

Don't talk on a cell phone while driving. Phones detract from your ability to concentrate on the road and increase your chance of a collision by nearly 400%. If you must use the phone, pull over to a safe, well-lit parking lot and place your call there. After completing your call you may continue on your way.

Effective March 2012, texting while driving is illegal in Pennsylvania and it can be considered a primary offense. A primary offense is one where a driver can be pulled over without any other violation. if you are caught texting while driving, the fine is $50 Please don't text and drive.


New Teen Driving Law
Stricter Requirements; Stricter Penalties

Under Pennsylvania's new teenage driving law, which went into effect December 27, 2011, a teen driver having a passenger under 18 without a seatbelt is a primary offense, which means teens could be pulled over and possibly fined. During the first six months, after getting their license, teens can only have one person under the age 18 in the vehicle with them. This does not include immediate family members. After the first six months, teens can have up to three passengers under 18.

The law also states teens must complete 65 hours of behind the wheel training before taking their driver's exam. The previous requirement was 50 hours. The extra 15 hours are split between night driving and driving in inclement weather. The former requires 10 hours and the latter requires 5 hours.

Click here to watch an informative video on the details of Pennsylvania's new teenage driving law.


Stopped School Buses

There is NOT an established school bus stop in the Borough of Green Tree where a motorist can legally pass a stopped school bus with flashing red lights. Drivers MUST stop when they are either behind or approaching a bus with flashing red lights and the stop arm extended. Anyone who fails to stop for a school bus will receive a 60-day driver's license suspension, five (5) points on their driving record and a $250 fine.

When there are three or four lanes of undivided traffic, like there is along Greentree Road, it is never permissible to pass a stopped school bus. The multiple lanes occur to aid the flow of traffic and not to enable motorists to pass school buses. All vehicles in both directions must come to a complete stop when a school bus's lights are flashing red. Greentree Road is not a divided highway.


Lights Must Be On When Using Windshield Wipers

Beginning January 29, 2007 motorists must turn on their headlights when they turn on their windshield wipers for rain, mist, sleet and snow. Headlights must be on when wipers are on the intermittent motion because of weather. The use of parking lights are not an exception. This violation carries a $25.00 fine plus costs that total $100.00.


Buckle Up Every Time!

And most importantly, while following the above mentioned safe driving tips, don't forget to buckle up each and every time you drive, no matter how short the trip might be. Your chances of surviving an accident increase if you're seat belt is buckled. It's also the law and you can be fined for not wearing your seat belt. CLICK IT OR TICKET!